Carbonara di Paola

Another very easy basic recipe that I couldn’t live without anymore. The big secret is: Carbonara is not actually the very thick, fat and creamy ham sauce you get in a lot of restaurants served on top of tortellini. I recognized a lot of people know that already, to me it was quite new and I learned it while I was in Italy.  

For everyone still interested in the recipe for the real one: This is how you cook “Carbonara”, an Italian pasta recipe, that I learned from an in Turin living, beautiful Italian woman, who’s very busy with working and still stays a great cook and mother! thank you Paola, if you can see this! 

Little awesome-fact ahead of it: When you’ve cooked this recipes several times, you will know it by heart and your heart will remember it, I swear. In.every.critical.situation.of.hunger. Plus its ingredients are so simple as you basically only need eggs (that you kinda always have at home). Hence this recipe will bring you some yummy meals a lot of times when you’ll think, “Shit, nothing left in my damn fridge, let’s go for some Cornflakes with water”.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You start with one egg (just the yellow of the egg) per person (which is great when you’re alone, you only need ONE egg!), which you beat. Meanwhile you cook your pasta (Spaghetti would be the classic) in a lot of salt water (more about that topic will follow in my post ‘italians about pasta/food‘) and prepare Parmesan, grating it. It’s important that you actually use Parmesan, in Paolas words “good cheese for the good taste”! You add your grated cheese to your egg and also add one spoon of your salt water as well as a spoon of cream. Whisk Whisk Whisk.

As the pasta will be done soon, heat up a tasty amount of butter in your pan, and add some chopped bacon to it. When the pasta is cooked, you pour them off and take the pan with the bacon down from the heat.

(2012/11/2) Little add to this: Yesterday I cooked the Carbonara here in Vietnam, where I’m not usually having butter at home and I just bought a mortar (yeah!). I cooked for 3 persons, so I took 3 little cloves of garlic and added some olive oil, and pestled them until the garlic was really fine. This ‘sauce’ I used to roast the bacon, and I just roasted it for about 2-3 minutes, so it stays a bit soft. The Carbonara was just enormously good yesterday, don’t know if it was because of the garlic or the fact that no one of us has eaten something like that for a while ;). But, try it out, give me your opinion!  

Add the pasta to the pan, mix it with your bacon, then add your egg mixture, whisk whisk whisk, serve on plates, add even more grated Parmesan, and ‘nom’ it away. 

*You can also add to this recipe if you like to (I say that, not sure if Paola would). You can for example add vegetables, like thinly chopped zucchini (roasted with the bacon or alone to have it vegetarian). 

** In the picture the Carbonara are served in a Pasta Basket.

5 thoughts on “Carbonara di Paola

  1. William says:

    The real receipt provides “guanciale” instead of bacon (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guanciale). Pancetta, a cured Italian bacon which is normally not smoked, can be used as a substitute when guanciale is not available.
    No, never the bacon.
    I do NOT want even to hear about garlic.
    The rest of the process is OK. If you want a light receipt, you may cook the guanciale or the unsmoked bacon in its fat (just add some water in the frying pan, or simply use the microwave owen).
    You may add some black pepper at the end; but I prefere some nutmeg.

    1. kristinsnomnom says:

      Thank you very much for this William! I’m very happy to get opinions and different ways to prepare a meal, as I like to leave the choice a bit to the audience. I like the idea of frying without extra oil.

Leave a Reply

