DIY Friday: USA vs EU measurements

Cooking is hard. No matter how many “The beginner’s recipe book” you have, no matter how many times you’ve cooked that meal, no matter if you learn the recipe by heart, there will always be that one time when you get it wrong. And, yes, it’s frustrating. But one thing that’s more frustrating than forgetting the cookies in the oven is forgetting how much flour I needed in the first place.
I have a handful of recipe books in my kitchen, but I admit that I find most of my recipes on the net. It’s quick, easy and you can compare different versions of the same meal all in a few minutes. This means that it’s not uncommon to stumble into recipes where everything is measured in cups and spoons. Even though it’s not the first time, everytime I read “1 cup of flour, 1/2 cup of sugar” there’s always a moment where I get nervous and wonder “Fine, but which KIND of cup?”
Image
How should I know?!?” my brain shouts back in panic.
I bought measuring spoons, measurement jugs and stuff but I always end up feeling safer using a scale: you can never be too precise.
Image
So, for all you fellows who get as confused as me while in the kitchen, here’s a precious little printable for you. A tiny, little conversion chart, ready to be hanged in the kitchen for a quick glance while cooking. You’ll never get a recipe wrong again! ..Except when you leave the cookies in the oven.
Image

DOWNLOAD RED KITCHEN CHART
DOWNLOAD LIGHT BLUE KITCHEN CHART
DOWNLOAD GREEN KITCHEN CHART
DOWNLOAD BEIGE KITCHEN CHART

Happy cooking! :)

3 thoughts on “DIY Friday: USA vs EU measurements

Leave a Reply

