The 30 day Hot Yoga challenge // D 4 & 5 Hot Restorative

**

One year ago in the hectic city named Ho Chi Minh City in Southern Vietnam I discovered Yoga and what a difference it makes to your life. Both Vietnam and Yoga are now very important parts of my life. Click here if you want to read about how I started my path with Yoga in Vietnam. It has now been 3 months since I left Vietnam and I miss it quite terribly. Actually, 3 months right on the day. Wow.

I am now in Calgary, Canada. For my comeback to Yoga I chose to go with ‘Soul Hot Yoga’ right by Deerfoot Trail on 126th Ave, Calgary. I did a few regular Yoga classes in Vancouver but I was definitely missing the heat. I was more than happy to discover that I am surrounded by Hot Yoga studios in South Calgary and that they offer a 40$ unlimited trial for a month. So… why not make the most out of it, make it a challenge, go 30 times, every day for a month? See what it actually does to my body and mind.

As Hot Yoga is super popular in North America I thought this would be something interesting for a lot of people to follow. How will she feel after the classes? Which class has which effect? Which muscles will hurt afterwards? Will she make it? Does the heat actually make you loose more weight than regular Yoga classes? Are you able to burn up to a thousand calories per class, as the rumors say? Does the heat make it easier for you to stretch? If you google those questions you will get all kinds of results. So I want to give you the chance to actually follow me through my challenge, I will even weigh in and share it with you because well, I don’t give a shit ;). I’ve always weighed about the same, 55kg +/-. As right now, 1 day before I start my challenge, I am in the + section, 57,5kg (127 creepy pounds), I wouldn’t mind loosing some of that during the challenge. But it is not the point. I’m curious. I wanna test the rumors and really get to the bottom of that blazing topic of ‘Hot Hot Yoga’ . If you are too, well here we go!

First few days were a total success. Two warm Vinyasa classes followed by a Hot Core. I felt like rewarding my body with a 75 min Hot Restorative.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Day 4: Hot Restorative 

4 – 5.15 PM

Instructor: Candace Rusling

This was pure relaxation and deep deep stretching. I wish I would’ve been happier before class, it was one of those days where you kind of loose any hope in mankind. I guess you all know what I mean. My head was really full with all kinds of shit and unfortunately I am still not at that point where I can get out of my damn head and just focus on breathing, my body, and the hour that I am spending to relax and forget about worries. But it was still a enjoyable 75 minutes, a beautiful class. Candace chose fantastic music for this slow session, we stretched deeply and performed lots of great twists. I am sure I will sleep very well tonight and I can’t wait to get back there tomorrow!

 

Day 5: Another Hot Restorative

7.15 – 8.30 PM

Instructor: Candace Rusling

I didn’t really want to do the same class with the same instructor again, not because I didn’t like it, just cause I thought I should switch to keep it exciting. Somehow the Sunday went by and this last class of the day was the only one suitable, so I went. My head was clearer and I felt good from Saturday, so I didn’t mind going for the relaxation, taking my 75 min off and enjoy the peaceful ambiance.  I was hoping that the 75 min wouldn’t drag on too much. And the studio surprised me again positively. The class was different from the one on Saturday. We worked with 2 blocks and tried a few different stretches and twists with it, like a supported bridge. This class was really about seeing how far you can go, but not forcing yourself. Trying to relax every muscle and let go of the tension, let it stretch into the poses naturally, without any pressure. It was wonderful. Even though we never even stood up on our mats, all poses were done on our back, sides, or sitting, the 75 min passed really fast and it was like going to the cinema but actually doing something great for your body. No one can interrupt you, it’s just you, music, the instructors calm voice, the relaxing scent of the studio – just lovely for a Sunday night. There was still some sweat going on, don’t get me wrong. Candace also did a pose with us which she said could be practiced at home and might help with insomnia, which interests me a lot as I have problems with that. We had one block under our pelvis, back flat on the mat and legs straight up in 90° to our body. At home it can simply be done with a pillow under the pelvis and legs up the wall before going to sleep. I’ll definitely give that a shot!

As I drove home my favorite Calgarian radio station (92.90) played Alt-J’s Tessellate. :) Like the icing on the cake.

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qg6BwvDcANg

One thought on “The 30 day Hot Yoga challenge // D 4 & 5 Hot Restorative

Leave a Reply

