The 30 day Hot Yoga Challenge / Day 12 & 13 Frustration

**

One year ago in the hectic city named Ho Chi Minh City in Southern Vietnam I discovered Yoga and what a difference it makes to your life. Both Vietnam and Yoga are now very important parts of my life. Click here if you want to read about how I started my path with Yoga in Vietnam. It has now been 3 months since I left Vietnam and I miss it quite terribly. Actually, 3 months right on the day. Wow.

I am now in Calgary, Canada. For my comeback to Yoga I chose to go with ‘Soul Hot Yoga’ right by Deerfoot Trail on 126th Ave, Calgary. I did a few regular Yoga classes in Vancouver but I was definitely missing the heat. I was more than happy to discover that I am surrounded by Hot Yoga studios in South Calgary and that they offer a 40$ unlimited trial for a month. So… why not make the most out of it, make it a challenge, go 30 times, every day for a month? See what it actually does to my body and mind.

As Hot Yoga is super popular in North America I thought this would be something interesting for a lot of people to follow. How will she feel after the classes? Which class has which effect? Which muscles will hurt afterwards? Will she make it? Does the heat actually make you loose more weight than regular Yoga classes? Are you able to burn up to a thousand calories per class, as the rumors say? Does the heat make it easier for you to stretch? If you google those questions you will get all kinds of results. So I want to give you the chance to actually follow me through my challenge, I will even weigh in and share it with you because well, I don’t give a shit ;). I’ve always weighed about the same, 55kg +/-. As right now, 1 day before I start my challenge, I am in the + section, 57,5kg (127 creepy pounds), I wouldn’t mind loosing some of that during the challenge. But it is not the point. I’m curious. I wanna test the rumors and really get to the bottom of that blazing topic of ‘Hot Hot Yoga’ . If you are too, well here we go! Day 1 will start with a class that is called ‘Power Vinyasa Flow’ at around 30°C. I want to take it easy for at least the first two classes before I actually enter the hot room and ‘Soul Hot Yoga’ offers a couple of warm classes for explorers.

UPDATE: I am down a pound, almost two, after the first week. That is not much could as well just be a good day to jump on the scale ;-). But we will see how it continues!  

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Day 12 & 13 — Frustration

Yes, Frustration. Why? Is it getting too much? Should we not practice Yoga every day?

NO.

As most of the frustration I experience, this one also resulted simply out of my own chaotic being. You don’t have to read this, except you are a little bit of a mess, tend to get lost, be late and feel like the whole universe is working against you. Then read this, it will show you that the universe is NOT against you and that you are not the only one.

Believe it or not, in the past 2 days I had 3 attempts getting to a class. First one was during rush hour traffic and I forgot about it. So I got stuck in it, didn’t get very far. Had to turn around before I was even anywhere near the studio. Damn it. 2nd attempt. No rush hour. But I was farther away this time, shopping. I left the mall 20 minutes later than planned, and then I got lost, going North instead of South, which has never happened to me before. WTF?? It’s ok. I buried my anger in thrift shopping, my new thing. Not totally discouraged yet, I took my third attempt during the afternoon. I left 10 minutes later than planned, halfway there I was too far away and I chose the wrong route. The one which is usually faster during peak hour was completely blocked. WTF???? Turning around, again, going back home. Total 1 1/2 hours spent driving for nothing. It makes me mad again writing about it, but I guess not mad enough to change my typical behavior. I’ve been like this for 20 of my almost 25 years of existence at least. Late for school, late for sports, late for university, late for everything.

What can I do to change my time management????

full-moon-1 copy1 copy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

On the other hand…all this frustration and time tied me to the kitchen. There will be lots of recipes coming up for you! Haha. And I am back on track. I just got back from another Yoga Class. And I am optimistic again.

 

Leave a Reply

