The 30 day Hot Yoga Challenge / Day 14 Warm Explore

**

One year ago in the hectic city named Ho Chi Minh City in Southern Vietnam I discovered Yoga and what a difference it makes to your life. Both Vietnam and Yoga are now very important parts of my life. Click here if you want to read about how I started my path with Yoga in Vietnam. It has now been 3 months since I left Vietnam and I miss it quite terribly. Actually, 3 months right on the day. Wow.

I am now in Calgary, Canada. For my comeback to Yoga I chose to go with ‘Soul Hot Yoga’ right by Deerfoot Trail on 126th Ave, Calgary. I did a few regular Yoga classes in Vancouver but I was definitely missing the heat. I was more than happy to discover that I am surrounded by Hot Yoga studios in South Calgary and that they offer a 40$ unlimited trial for a month. So… why not make the most out of it, make it a challenge, go 30 times, every day for a month? See what it actually does to my body and mind.

As Hot Yoga is super popular in North America I thought this would be something interesting for a lot of people to follow. How will she feel after the classes? Which class has which effect? Which muscles will hurt afterwards? Will she make it? Does the heat actually make you loose more weight than regular Yoga classes? Are you able to burn up to a thousand calories per class, as the rumors say? Does the heat make it easier for you to stretch? If you google those questions you will get all kinds of results. So I want to give you the chance to actually follow me through my challenge, I will even weigh in and share it with you because well, I don’t give a shit ;). I’ve always weighed about the same, 55kg +/-. As right now, 1 day before I start my challenge, I am in the + section, 57,5kg (127 creepy pounds), I wouldn’t mind loosing some of that during the challenge. But it is not the point. I’m curious. I wanna test the rumors and really get to the bottom of that blazing topic of ‘Hot Hot Yoga’ . If you are too, well here we go! Day 1 will start with a class that is called ‘Power Vinyasa Flow’ at around 30°C. I want to take it easy for at least the first two classes before I actually enter the hot room and ‘Soul Hot Yoga’ offers a couple of warm classes for explorers.

UPDATE: I am down a pound, almost two, after the first week. That is not much could as well just be a good day to jump on the scale ;-). But we will see how it continues!  

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Day 14: Warm Explore

9.30 – 10.45 AM

Instructor: Katie

I made it. Yaaay. Only slightly late….slap me. I went to my first Warm Explore class. At first I thought this might get a bit boring or too slow, as it is a class that is directed to beginners of Yoga or Hot Yoga. But by the end, I was glad I went. This class gave me time to practice and ameliorate poses that are common and important. For example, I improved my Warrior poses by a lot. I feel like I always had my back foot in a different place which would make it a different pose! Katie talks a lot during class, sometimes a bit too fast for me haha, and explains poses and is a real teacher up there. It was great. The majority of this 75min class was done in standing poses and Chatuaranga ( Flow: Standing Rise high, forward fold, step back, high plank, upward dog —> downward dog). At the end we did a few great twists for arms and upper back, which was kinda refreshing because most of the other classes focus more on the lower back. We did a few twists that I knew from my first courses in Vietnam, which always brings back sweet memories. Definitely a class to go to, beginners or not, and Katie is a teacher inside out and will love to help you improve your yoga practice.

 

Leave a Reply

