Vegan Chai Carrot Cake [Made from Carrot Pulp Juice Leftovers!]

Oh man. I am so proud of this. I had a creative moment. Actually, two. Finally I got my juicer working (yay! everyone, get one) so I made a Juice out of 4-5 Carrots, a little bit of Ginger and an Orange. My anti-waste brain was in flames afterwards, I was in a rush so I just chugged the bin with the pulp in the fridge.

Day after. Fuck yeah. CARROT CAKE!!!!! 

Day after, finally I have the time to bake. So how do I make this one a special one? What goes well with the Carrot Cake flavors? Looking around my kitchen spinning in circles, my eyes went past the teas.

CHAI TEA! Awesome. 

So I made Chai Tea Flax Seed Eggs. And a Chai Spice Frosting. And yes, it turned out great. <3

I brought a few bites to work today because, well, I love feeding people and I love cooking and baking, but if I ate everything I made myself I would be rolling in circles right now, back and forth, back & forth… ;-). And here is the review of my non-vegan coworker: A+ on moisture & density (OH SHIT!) and a B- on taste (she would prefer a sweeter version. I don’t like my carrot cake very sweet, but please go ahead if you do and replace the coconut sugar with brown sugar if you want it sweeter!).

Enough bla, preheat your oven to 370°F.

Mix wet ingredients:
2 cups of Carrot Pulp (mine included some ginger & orange, if you don’t juice, grate away.)
1/4 cup Maple Syrup
1/4 cup of Chai Tea (brewed at least 5 minutes) + 2 TB Flax Seed, mix, let sit for a few minutes. This is your awesome egg replacement!
1/4 cup Coconut Milk with a handful of dried shredded unsweetened coconut
1/4 cup Coconut Sugar (Sub with brown sugar if you like it sweet)
1/2 cup Apple Sauce

Dry Ingredients: 
2 cups of Whole Wheat Flour
1 t Baking Powder
1 t Cinnamon
1 t Turmeric
1/2 Garam Masala

Bake 30-40 min until lightly brown at sides and as soon as toothpick comes out clean.

CASHEW CREAM-DREAM CHAI FROSTING:

1 cup soaked Cashews
1/4 cup Chai Tea (brewed min. 5 min)
Touch Coconut Milk
Touch Maple Syrup
1 t Garam Masala
1 t Vanilla
1 TB Lemon Juice

Chill Frosting for at least 30 minutes. Spread on cake after cake is chilled and out of the pan. Spread on top, keep in fridge over night, take out and let it get to room temperature before serving!

Enjoy! I am off to the Movie Premiere of ‘Chef’ in Calgary now :) So stoked!

Screenshot 2014-05-28 16.29.24

 

 

5 thoughts on “Vegan Chai Carrot Cake [Made from Carrot Pulp Juice Leftovers!]

    1. zupadream says:

      You can blend a Banana with the chai tea instead, should work fine as an egg replacer too!! Let me know how it goes okay? :)

Leave a Reply

