[Vegan] Crispy Tricolore Mac’n’Squash

I’ve been waiting to make this for so long and I haven’t had Pasta in ages. And you know, when you make things like this, you just can’t make a single serving. I love sharing and I love feeding people. I am like your old Greek grandmother. So I finally bought a Butternut Squash and told my roomies that we are going to have a little ‘Family Dinner’.

I want to mention here, the majority of people was not Vegan. Everybody enjoyed it. While our conversation went on an interesting path from penguins to seals, being clubbed for their fur, it made me very content that we were eating 100% happy, cruelty-free food. I’ve been introducing plant-based living slowly and carefully to my body in the past 3 months, and both my body and mind embrace sticking with it.

Anyhow, little recipe-food-loving romance, but here you go! I wanted something close to the dish ‘Mac’n’Cheese’, so I bought nutritional yeast (for the cheesy flavor, and for the sake of nutrition..of course) and I decided to finish the dish with bread crumbs and the whole thing baked in the oven. Let’s get cooking!

You need:

500g Brown Maccaroni

For the Sauce
1 butternut squash
Rosemary
1 c almond/soy/coconut milk
Cayenne, cumin, turmeric, salt & pepper
1/4 c nutritional yeast

Frozen or crunchy bread, grated, or purchase pre-made bread crumbs.

1 bunch of fresh Spinach (or Kale)
a few green onions
2-3 tomatoes or sundried tomatoes
Jalapenos (optional)Β 

Step-by-Step

  1. Peel and dice the quash.
  2. Roast it at 350Β°F for about 45min on a baking sheet, with some garlic, rosemary & drizzled with a bit of olive oil.
  3. Cook your Mac Al Dente.
  4. Slice Spinach, Green Onions & Tomatoes
  5. Once your squash is soft and lightly browned,
    blend it with all the ingredients for the sauce. Taste it, add whatever you miss!
  6. Mix your sauce with the Mac & Vegetables.
  7. Place in a baking pan, cover with bread crumbs and bake until these are slightly brown and nice and crispy!

This recipe will soon go for round #2 with some Vegan Cheese options, like ‘Daiya’. I will let you know how it goes! I also didn’t actually bake it with tomatoes yesterday cause I kind of forgot, but I definitely advise you to! Sundried tomatoes add a wonderful flavor whilst fresh tomatoes will add a little lightness to the dish. Your call, let me know how you like it.

Lots of love for you and your food,

xo

kris

2 thoughts on “[Vegan] Crispy Tricolore Mac’n’Squash

Leave a Reply

