Fruit Pie Summer

It is August guys, and it is berry time! Which is why here in Canada no one leaves for camping without bear spray, whistles, bells and myself, PIE! Yes, not only the bears are picking, I am too, as I am so blessed with raspberry bushes all around my garden. I recently found out that the pie shop here in Calgary that I worked for quite a while already actually makes their fruit pies Vegan. Not intentionally, but yeah, using Veg. shortening instead of butter and no eggs (as they are not needed..) there you go! After eating my favorite slice of Apple Pie I knew I wanted to figure out a recipe at home. A whole wheat one! 

I went through my favorite recipe book right now called ‘Home Made Summer’ which I received as a Christmas Gift from a dear friend. Most recipes in there aren’t vegan or even vegetarian, but that’s the fun (at least my fun) of living vegan. Challenges! Veganizing! Witching!

SONY DSC

 

I also learned about how to create a vegan nice fruit pie ‘Jelly’ with the help of my Vegan Mentor (hi Andrew!). Agar agar, derived from a southeast asian seaweed is the vegetarian brother of gelatin! tada! You can get it at your local health store. It sets super firmly even without the need of refrigerating and has NO taste! It is plant-based and even has a few health benefits, making you feel full for a while after eating (slimming pie oh shit!) and is a natural digestive aid.

I made two different pies, one with raspberries & blueberries and one strawberry-coconut-cream pie. I baked the pie crust on its own, sprinkled with some almonds helps the dough baking properly, but I would remove them afterwards as I didn’t really enjoy the crunch. Then you can go ahead, layer your favorite fruit, prepare your agar (boil a delicious red fruit tea with some brown sugar, mix agar with warm water in a cup until you get a very gooey mixture, whisk into your colored tea) and brush your fruit layer with as much agar as you fancy.

 

VEGAN WHOLE WHEAT PIE CRUST 

3 cups of Whole Wheat Flour
1/4 Cup of Spelt Flour (You can easily adapt this to your desire. Only WW or Unbleached Flour will work)
1 Tsp of baking powder
A pinch of Salt
1/2 Cup of Coconut or Brown Sugar
9 Tbsp or 125g of Coconut Oil
1/3 Cup of non-dairy milk (I used Almond as I make it at home)
2 Tbsp. of pre-mixed gooey Flaxseed & Water.

Knead with your hands until you have a nice feel, consistency and texture. This will be enough for 2 large pies, or a covered pie (bake with the fruit and cover up entirely). Shape dough in one or two balls and wrap in foil, let sit in fridge for about an hour. Preheat the oven to 375°F and roll out the dough, bake for about 25minutes.

One thought on “Fruit Pie Summer

Leave a Reply

